Womens State Amateur Championship

The Illinois Women’s Golf Association (IWGA) was established in 1933 for the sole purpose of conducting the Illinois State Women’s Amateur Championship (first contested in 1934). In the fall of 2023, following a successful 90-year run, the IWGA announced the transition of the administration of both the Illinois State Women’s Amateur and Illinois State Senior Women’s Amateur Championships to the Chicago District Golf Association. The CDGA is honored to continue the storied history of these women’s championships, as the Association looks to carry on the IWGA’s legacy of expanding playing opportunities for women and girls across the Chicago District.

The Illinois State Women’s Amateur Championship, traditionally conducted annually by the Illinois Women’s Golf Association, was first played in 1934 at Evanston Golf Club, and was conducted as match play through 2023.

Now, new for 2024, the event will be contested as a 54-hole stroke play competition conducted over three days. Also new in 2024, the Illinois State Women’s Amateur champion will automatically qualify for this year’s U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship.

There are 62 players entered in the field for the 2024 Illinois State Women’s Amateur Championship being held at The Grove Country Club in Long Grove, IL, on Monday through Wednesday, June 10 – 12. The Championship is open to any amateur who is a current resident of Illinois, with a current Handicap Index not exceeding 10.4.

All players will play 18 holes on Monday and Tuesday, with the low 20 and ties advancing to the final 18 holes on Wednesday. In the event of a tie, there will be an immediate, three-hole, total-stroke playoff. If a tie remains, play will proceed on a sudden-victory basis. Should conditions not permit, the CDGA reserves the right to alter the playoff format.

The 90-year history of the Illinois State Women’s Amateur Championship includes a list of champions with multiple titles. Topping the list with the most titles are: Lois Drafke (9), Marjorie Lindsay (5), Shirley Dommers (5), and Kerry Postillion (5).

Recent champions include:
2016 Lauren Chappell (hometown, Charleston)
2017 Kelly Sterling (hometown, Mokena)
2018 Sabrina Bonanno (hometown, Norridge)
2019 Sarah Arnold (hometown, St. Charles)
2020 No Event – COVID-19
2021 Grace Curran (hometown, New Lenox)
2022 Megan Furtney (hometown, St. Charles)
2023 Sarah Arnold (hometown, Geneva)

Sarah Arnold, a St. Charles native and Western Kentucky University golfer, is entered in the 2024 championship and is set to defend her 2023 State Women’s Am crown, which she won at The Grove CC.

2024 marks the third consecutive year that The Grove CC will host the Illinois State Women’s Amateur Championship. The tee times (#1 tee and #10 tee) for the first two rounds begin at 8:00 a.m. through 9:40 a.m.; Wednesday’s final round also begins at 8:00 a.m. for those golfers who made the cut.

Spectators are welcome (walking only); admission and parking are free. (Photo images: courtesy, CDGA).



Greg Miles

Greg Miles has been a writer following golf in Chicago since 1990. For the past 30 years he has been a member of the Golf Writers Association of America and currently is classified as a GWAA "Life Member". He played his first round of golf on his 11th birthday, and since then has played more than 7,300 rounds of golf in his lifetime at 517 different courses. He has interviewed more than 280 golfers across all the professional tours along with famous celebrity golfers. Additionally, he is a member of several other competitive and honorary golf associations, as well as the Golf Nut Society.

Chicago Golf Report
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Shopping cart